Skip to main content

Guestline PMS: Create, edit and delete room maintenance

Create, edit, complete, and delete room maintenance periods in Guestline Rezlynx in a few simple steps.

Written by Xanthe Jackson

Room maintenance allows you to temporarily block rooms for maintenance work, add warnings for staff, or remove rooms from availability. This article explains how to create, complete, and delete room maintenance periods within Guestline Rezlynx.

⚠️Important: Prior to adding a room maintenance period - ensure that the room has all reservations unallocated from it, so that you can set the room maintenance.

Access to room maintenance

Room maintenance can be accessed from the Guestline PMS main menu, in the following ways:

  • Guest Journey, then Front Office, then select Room Maintenance.

  • Reports, then House Keeping, then Room Maintenance.

  • Guest Journey, then Property, then select Planner.


Create room maintenance

To create or add a room maintenance period, follow the steps below:

  1. Open Room Maintenance or the Planner.

    • In Room Maintenance, select Date Specific Issues, then select Add.

      🤓 Tip: If you have more than one room to put out for maintenance, use Room Maintenance, as this offers the option to add multiple rooms in one go.

    • In the Planner, select a blank area and choose Create Maintenance Period

  2. Complete the required information:

    • Select Room ID or rooms.

    • Start and end date for the room to be blocked out - ensuring you have no reservations allocated to those rooms for that period.

    • Assigned to will allocate the task to that person on the maintenance report.

    • Maintenance type that best suits the cause.

    • Status - select the most suitable status.

    • Action - it is important to select the right option here, as they will all have different effects on the system. The options include:

      • Report only will not show on the planner. The maintenance period will be updated on the maintenance report only.

      • Warn user will flag up the comments or notes when you click into that room on the planner or allocate the room. It can also be displayed with a colour on the planner; this is configured in the background. You will also see the warning when checking in a guest.

      • Room out of service will display a ROS sign on the diary and count as a ROS on the availability chart. If you have 10 rooms and sell 9, placing the last room out of service, your occupancy percentage will be 90% as you could have sold the last room.

      • Deduct from stock will display a DFS sign on the diary and count as a DFS on the availability chart. If you have 10 rooms and sell 9, placing the last room as deducted from stock, your occupancy percentage will show 100% as you could have never sold the last room as it has been completely removed from your room stock.

    • Notes - these provide further information for your team.

  3. Click Save Changes.


When a maintenance period is completed, it should be marked as complete on the Status.


Mark room maintenance as complete

Via Room Maintenance

To mark a room maintenance period as completed from the Room Maintenance, follow the steps below:

  1. Navigate to Room Maintenance.

  2. Use the filters to locate the room, click Edit.

  3. Check that the End date is correct, then update the Status to Completed.

    📌Note: The ROS/DFS will continue to show within the Planner from the start to end date.

  4. Click Mark As Complete.

  5. Add any Completion Notes and click OK.

Via the Planner

To mark a room maintenance period as completed from the Planner, follow the steps below:

  1. Navigate to the Planner, then to the date you applied the room maintenance period.

  2. Click on the ROS/DFS.

  3. Check that the end date is correct, then update the Status to Completed.

    📌Note: The ROS/DFS will continue to show within the Planner from the start to end date.

  4. Click Mark As Complete.

  5. Add any Completion Notes and click OK.


Delete room maintenance

Via Room Maintenance

To delete a room maintenance period as completed from the Room Maintenance, follow the steps below:

  1. Navigate to Room Maintenance.

  2. Use the filters to locate the room, click Edit.

  3. Click Delete.

Via the Planner

To delete a room maintenance period as completed from the Planner, follow the steps below:

  1. Navigate to Room Maintenance.

  2. Use the filters to locate the room, click Edit.

  3. Click Delete.

Did this answer your question?